«

»

WHAT DO PUBLIC OPINION LEADERS AND EXPERTS THINK ABOUT THE ECONOMIC SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY

The survey reveals that the overwhelming majority of leaders and experts, regardless of the structures they represent, is not satisfied with A. Lukashenko’s ruling (See Table 1.) Although the number of those dissatisfied is lower among representatives of the public sector, the figure is still impressive – 69%.
Table 1. Distribution of answers to the question: “Are you satisfied with A. Lukashenko’s ruling?”, %

What are the reasons for such dissatisfaction? According to the findings, in most cases leaders and experts are not very satisfied with the economic policy of the present authorities and its results. So, the overwhelming majority of the respondents (98.3%) believes that the situation in the country either has deteriorated or remained unchanged (See Table 2).

Table 2. Distribution of answers to the question: “Do you think the economic situation in the country has changed over the past year?”, %

Leaders and experts absolutely disagree with A. Lukashenko’s repeated statements that the economic course of the country is correct and there is no point in adjusting it. As we see from Table 3 83% of leaders and experts think in the opposite. Among representatives of the public sector – almost two thirds of the respondents.

Table 3. Distribution of answers to the question: “The country leadership has repeatedly claimed the present economic course to be correct. Do you agree with that?”, %

Even more leaders and experts (88%) believe that Belarus’ economy needs large-scale reforms (See Table 4). Although only 76% in the public sector think this way, in the private sector – 100%.

Table 4. Distribution of answers to the question: “Does Belarus’ economy need large-scale reforms?”, %

Table 5. Distribution of answers to the question: “Is a “strong social policy”, discussed at a recent seminar of local and republic officials, possible in the current economic condition of the country?”, %

Obviously, in the current economic conditions the state cannot pursue a strong social policy widely debated at the October seminar of national and local officials. 80% of the respondents think this way (See Table 5). Of course, state-run mass media can tell a lot about advantages of such policy arguing that authorities are mainly concerned about it. But no matter what, things are rights where they started…

«

»

ЧТО ДУМАЮТ ОБЩЕСТВЕННЫЕ ЛИДЕРЫ И ЭКСПЕРТЫ ОБ ЭКОНОМИЧЕСКОЙ СИТУАЦИИ В СТРАНЕ

Результаты опроса показывают, что подавляющее большинство лидеров и экспертов, независимо от представляемых структур, не удовлетворены тем, как А. Лукашенко управляет страной (табл. 1). Хотя среди представителей госсектора неудовлетворенных несколько меньше, но их все же достаточно много – 69%.
Таблица 1. Распределение ответов на вопрос «Удовлетворены ли Вы тем, как А. Лукашенко управляет страной?», %

В чем же причины этой неудовлетворенности? Как показывают полученные данные, в большинстве случаев лидеры и эксперты не слишком довольны как экономической политикой властей, так и ее результатами. Так, подавляющее большинство опрошенных (98%) считают, что экономическая ситуация в стране либо ухудшилась, либо не изменилась (табл. 2).

Таблица 2. Распределение ответов на вопрос «Как, на Ваш взгляд, изменилась экономическая ситуация в стране за последний год?», %

Совершенно не согласны лидеры и эксперты с неоднократными утверждениями А. Лукашенко о том, что экономический курс страны выбран правильно и менять его власти не собираются. Как видно из табл. 3, 83% лидеров и экспертов придерживаются противоположной точки зрения. И даже среди представителей госсектора так считают две трети опрошенных.

Таблица 3. Распределение ответов на вопрос «Руководство страны неоднократно заявляло о правильности нынешнего экономического курса. Вы с этим согласны?», %

Еще больше лидеров и экспертов считают (88%), что белорусская экономика нуждается в широкомасштабном реформировании (табл. 4). И если в государственном секторе так думают 76% опрошенных, то в негосударственном – все 100%.

Таблица 4. Распределение ответов на вопрос «Существует ли необходимость широкомасштабного реформирования белорусской экономики?», %

Таблица 5. Распределение ответов на вопрос «Возможна ли «сильная социальная политика», о которой говорилось на недавнем семинаре руководителей республиканских и местных органов власти, при нынешнем экономическом положении страны?», %

Вполне понятно, что в нынешних экономических условиях государство не сможет проводить сильную социальную политику, о которой много говорилось на проходившем в октябре семинаре руководителей республиканских и местных органов власти. Так считают 80% опрошенных (табл. 5). Государственные СМИ, конечно, могут много рассказывать о достоинствах такой политики, о том, что все властные структуры только и озабочены ее проведением. Однако, сколько ни говори «халва, халва…», во рту слаже не станет.