«

»

BULLETINS INFOFOCUS № 4

E-bulletin of IISEPS Center for Documentation, N 4, 2004 (only Russian)

Content:

Introduction

Theme of the month:
The third term of A. Lukashenko: no support from Kremlin is necessary?

Person of the month
Michael Marinich: criminal or political competitor?

Document of the month:
Presidents decree about state secrets: defense of information or threat to it?

Organization of the month:
UN Commission on human rights and PA EU: political game on the eve of elections or support of democracy?

Introduction:

Dear readers!

 

Next issue of “Infofocus” is offered to you attention. Acting with the annual message, president A. Lukashenko described a condition and prospects of relations with Russia like this: 1) we shouldn’t expect introductions of the Russian ruble in foreseeable future; 2) the referendum about Constitutional act is possible only if its content will “advance” process of integration; 3) both sides should strictly implement signed arrangements. Replying whether he is going to stand on a post of the president for third term, A. Lukashenko has again escaped from the direct answer and promised the deputies to tell about his plans later. Soon after that he went on unprecedented tour on the Chernobyl areas, what remind usual election campaign. Because during meetings with inhabitants of damaged areas he spoke not only about Chernobyl problems. So we named A. Lukashenko’s third term without Russian support the “Theme of the month”. Does it mean A. Lukashenko turned away from Russia “seriously and for a long time”? Has he decided to conduct a referendum changing the Constitution contrary to Moscow’s opinion? Whether Kremlin will counteract A. Lukashenko’s plans and whether does it have enough resources for this? Will the president achieve the purpose? Answers to these questions are given in the comments of the chairman of Council of Republic Constant Commission on international affairs and national safety N. Cherginets and politologist V. Selitsky.
Its a bad tradition that “Person of the month” are already for the second time democratic politicians who are under criminal prosecution organized by authorities. In March we told you about the case of UCP chairman A. Lebedko. In April one of the leaders of movement “For the Better Life”, former minister of foreign economic relations M. Marinich was arrested. To the moment the issue of the bulletin was finished no official incrimination were made, but Marinich is suspected of plunder of official documents and illegal storage of fire-arms. $90 thousand were find when M. Marinich was arrested. Investigators declared, that the most part of the money are spurious. And M. Marinich told that money were lent by his Russian friend and he was going to spend them for democratic candidates’ support on parliamentary elections. What is the true reason of M. Marinich arrest? Is his confession voluntary? How will it affect the course of election campaign? Chairman of a Supervising Board of Belarusian and Russian foundation “For a New Belarus” V. Leonov and the deputy of the House of Representatives I. Pashkevich express their opinions.
Presidential decree “About the statement of the list of the data being the state secret of the Republic of Belarus” is, in our opinion, the document of the month. The decree caused many questions because some data determined as a state secret seem strange, for example, “number of working citizens, including the militarians and persons reserved by national economy of Republic of Belarus”. Why the acceptance of this statutory act was necessary? Does it correspond to the Constitution? Would it create the atmosphere of “spies searching”? The situation is analyzed by the Head of Belarusian Helsinki Committee T. Protko and the deputy of the House of Representatives A. Krasutsky.
In the section “Organization of the month” there are two international institutions – the Commission of the United Nations on human rights and Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Both they drawn attention by resolutions criticizing situation with violation of human rights in Belarus. Besides the PACE not just mentioned the facts but demanded the resignation of Prosecutor V. Shejman, conducting the independent investigation of cases of disappearance of opposition politicians and journalists, and also has actually interrupted all contacts with official Minsk. What caused so strict attitude of the Commission of the United Nations on human rights and, especially PACE? How to estimate accepted documents? How they will effect the position of the country and policy of Belarusian authorities? Politologist A. Feodor and the chairman of the House of Representatives Commission on human rights, interethnic relations and mass media V. Lipkin make the comments.
In a section “From IISEPS’ working table” the most interesting materials of the national opinion poll carried out by our institute in March are offered to your attention.
We hope, offered materials will be interesting and useful for you. We are waiting for your responses, remarks and offers!

IISEPS executive board

Download full version (in Russian only)

«

»

БЮЛЛЕТЕНИ ИНФОФОКУС № 4

Электронный бюллетень «ИНФОФОКУС», № 4, 2004 г.

Содержание:

Обращение к читателям

Тема месяца:
Третий срок президента А. Лукашенко: поддержка Кремля не нужна?

Персона месяца:
М. Маринич: нарушитель закона или политический конкурент?

Документ месяца:
Указ президента о госсекретах: защита информации или угроза для нее?

Организация месяца:
Комиссия ООН по правам человека и ПАСЕ: политическая игра накануне выборов или поддержка демократии?

С рабочего стола НИСЭПИ:
Верхи не хотят, низы не могут: стабильность по белорусски
Большинство белорусов не удовлетворено развитием демократии и соблюдением прав человека
Громкие исчезновения как фактор делегитимизации власти
Сила агитпропа и психология иждивенчества

Обращение к читателям:

Уважаемые читатели!

Вашему вниманию предлагается очередной выпуск бюллетеня «Инфофокус». Выступая с ежегодным посланием, президент А. Лукашенко так описал состояние и перспективы отношений с Россией: 1) введения российского рубля в обозримом будущем ожидать не стоит; 2) референдум по Конституционному акту возможен при условии, что его содержание далее «продвинет» процесс интеграции; 3) стороны должны неукоснительно выполнять все ранее подписанные договоренности. Отвечая на вопрос, собирается ли он баллотироваться на пост президента в третий раз, А. Лукашенко вновь ушел от прямого ответа, пообещав депутатам позже рассказать о своих планах. А вскоре после этого он отправился в беспрецедентное турне по чернобыльским районам, напоминавшее обычную избирательную кампанию, т.к. в ходе встреч с жителями пострадавших районов он говорил отнюдь не только о чернобыльской проблематике. Поэтому и «Тема месяца» определена нами так: третий срок А. Лукашенко без поддержки России. Означает ли сказанное, что он отвернулся от России «всерьез и надолго»? Действительно ли принято решение проводить референдум об изменении Конституции вопреки мнению Москвы? Будет ли Кремль противодействовать планам А. Лукашенко и располагает ли он для этого достаточными ресурсами? Удастся ли президенту добиться своей цели? Ответы на эти вопросы дают в своих комментариях председатель постоянной комиссии Совета Республики по международным делам и национальной безопасности Н. Чергинец и политолог В. Селицкий.

Недоброй традицией становится тот факт, что «Персоной месяца» уже второй раз подряд становятся демократические политики, против которых власти организуют уголовное преследование. В марте мы рассказывали о деле председателя ОГП А. Лебедько. В апреле был арестован один из лидеров движения «За лучшую жизнь» бывший министр внешних экономических связей М. Маринич. На момент подготовки номера официальное обвинение ему еще не предъявили, он подозревался в хищении официальных документов и незаконном хранении огнестрельного оружия. При задержании у М. Маринича были обнаружены $90 тыс. Следствие заявило, что большая часть их — фальшивые. А сам М. Маринич рассказал, что деньги ему одолжил российский друг, и что он сам собирался их потратить на поддержку демократических кандидатов на парламентских выборах. В чем истинные причины ареста М. Маринича? Насколько добровольными являются его признания? Как повлияет случившееся на ход избирательной кампании? Свое мнение по этому поводу высказывают председатель попечительского совета белорусско-российского фонда «За новую Беларусь» В. Леонов и депутат Палаты представителей И. Пашкевич.

Документом месяца, на наш взгляд, стал указ президента «Об утверждении перечня сведений, составляющих государственную тайну РБ». Указ вызвал множество вопросов, т.к. к категории гостайны им были отнесены довольно неожиданные вещи, например, «численность работающих граждан, в том числе забронированных за народным хозяйством РБ военнообязанных лиц». Чем была вызвана необходимость принятия такого нормативного акта? Насколько он соответствует Конституции? Не приведет ли его применение на практике к возникновению в обществе атмосферы шпиономании? Ситуацию анализируют глава Белорусского Хельсинского комитета Т. Протько и депутат Палаты представителей А. Красуцкий.

В рубрике «Организация месяца» представлены сразу две зарубежные структуры — Комиссия ООН по правам человека и Парламентская Ассамблея Совета Европы (ПАСЕ). Обе они привлекли внимание резолюциями, в которых резко критикуется ситуация с соблюдением прав человека в Беларуси. Кроме того, ПАСЕ, не ограничившись констатацией фактов, потребовала отставки Генпрокурора В. Шеймана, проведения независимого расследования случаев исчезновение оппозиционных политиков и журналистов, а также фактически прервала все контакты с официальным Минском. Чем обусловлена столь жесткая позиция Комиссии ООН по правам человека и, особенно, ПАСЕ? Как расценить принятые ими документы? Каким образом скажутся они на положении в стране и на политике белорусских властей? На эти темы рассуждают политолог А. Федоров и председатель постоянной комиссии Палаты представителей по правам человека, межнациональным отношениям и СМИ В. Липкин.

В рубрике «С рабочего стола НИСЭПИ» Вашему вниманию представлены наиболее интересные материалы национального опроса общественного мнения, проведенного нашим институтом в марте этого года.

Надеемся, предлагаемые материалы окажутся для вас интересными и полезными. С нетерпением ждем Ваших откликов и предложений!

 

 

Дирекция НИСЭПИ

 

Скачать полную версию