«

»

BULLETINS INFOFOCUS № 4

E-bulletin of IISEPS Center for Documentation, N 4, 2010 – ISSN 1822-5578 (only Russian)

Content:

Introduction
1. Basic trends of April
2. Chronicle of key events
3. Politics

3.1. Sport is above politics, and what about sportsmen?
3.2. Cargo “500”
3.3. Who does not let Belarusians go into the present?
4. Economics
4.1. Fell, but did not do push-ups
4.2. Recession was ordered “to depart this life”
4.3. Money underneath
5. Finances
5.1. The credit “soap bubble”
6. Good news
7. Our forecast for May
8. From the IISEPS desktop

Introduction:

Dear readers!

 

In the “Message-2010” to the National Assembly and the Belarusian people which president A. Lukashenko appeared with on April, 20 preparation of Directive N 4 “About further liberalization directed at emancipation of the economic activity conditions” was first mentioned. Soon a draft of the directive appeared on the Internet. There is no doubt that the final version may undergo considerable changes, however, even if the level of economic liberalism is reduced two times, the document can be safely considered revolutionary. It is difficult to estimate today all the consequences of its implementation, not only the economic ones. Appearance of a draft of such a document testifies at least to the following: there are people in the government and in the Presidential Administration who are not only able to rationally assess the condition of the Belarusian economy, but also to suggest clever decisions. It is clear that there are also liberal reforms’ opponents in the above mentioned agencies, otherwise where have the anti-market documents appeared from for so many years?
Directive N 4, regardless of its final look, is to become the “faith symbol” around which the struggle inside the power-holding elite for future Belarus is going to start. This is exactly the supposition we expressed in the March forecast.
The announced in the “Message-2010” policy of economic liberalization was successfully combined with the dress rehearsal of the forthcoming presidential elections. The elections were held according to the traditional scenario in spite of 130 amendments into the Electoral Code. It was not difficult to foretell such an outcome. The authorities have not yet entered the river of economic liberalization; they are only timidly trying the water; however there is no other option, but to plunge into it. And it is impossible to hold the economic liberalization process, once it has been started, within the initial limits provided that no source of gratuitous resources appears-just as it happened in the USSR in the 70s of the previous century, when the rise in prices for oil blocked Kosygin’s reforms. However, a similar problem does not threaten Belarus, to all appearances.
As for the relations with the West, our forecast concerning their aggravation has fully justified itself. The elections played an important role here; however the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) had anyway enough reasons at the conference in Strasbourg for suspending high-level contacts with Belarus.

IISEPS executive board

Download full version (in Russian only)

«

»

БЮЛЛЕТЕНИ ИНФОФОКУС № 4

Электронный бюллетень «ИНФОФОКУС» № 4, 2010 г. — ISSN 1822-5578

Содержание:

Обращение к читателям
1. Основные тенденции апреля
2. Хронология основных событий
3. Политика

 

3.1. Спорт вне политики, а спортсмены?
3.2. Груз «500»
3.3. Кто не пускает белорусов в современность?
4. Экономика
4.1. Упал и не отжался
4.2. Рецессии приказали «долго жить»
4.3. Деньги под ногами
5. Финансы
5.1. Кредитный «пузырь»
6. Хорошая новость
7. Наш прогноз на май
8. С рабочего стола НИСЭПИ

Обращение к читателям:

Уважаемые читатели!

 

 

В «Послании-2010» к Национальному собранию и белорусскому народу, с которым президент А. Лукашенко выступил 20 апреля, впервые было упомянуто о подготовке Директивы № 4 «О дальнейшей либерализации, направленной на раскрепощение условий экономической деятельности». Вскоре проект директивы появился в Интернете. Безусловно, окончательный вариант может претерпеть существенные изменения, но даже если уровень экономического либерализма будет снижен вдвое, документ можно смело считать революционным. Последствия его реализации, причем не только экономические, сегодня трудно просчитать. Появление проекта документа такого уровня свидетельствует как минимум о том, что в правительстве и Администрации президента есть люди, способные не только трезво оценивать состояние белорусской экономики, но и предлагать разумные решения. Понятно, что в перечисленных структурах есть и противники либеральных реформ — откуда же столько лет появлялись антирыночные документы?
Директива № 4, какой бы окончательный вид она не приняла, станет тем «символом веры», вокруг которого развернется борьба внутри властной элиты за будущую Беларусь. Это как раз то, что мы и предложили в мартовском прогнозе.
Объявленный в «Послании-2010» курс на экономическую либерализацию был успешно совмещен с генеральной репетицией предстоящих президентских выборов. Выборы прошли по традиционному сценарию, несмотря на 130 поправок в Избирательный кодекс. Предугадать такой результат было несложно. Власть еще не вошла в реку экономической либерализации, она лишь робко пробует воду, но иного варианта, кроме как окунуться с головой, у власти нет. А однажды начатый процесс экономической либерализации не может быть удержан в начальных рамках, если только не появится источник дармовых ресурсов. Как это случилось в СССР в 70-х годах прошлого века, когда рост цен на нефть заблокировал косыгинские реформы. Но Беларуси, судя по всему, подобное не грозит.
Что касается отношений с Западом, то наш прогноз по поводу их обострения полностью оправдался. Не последнюю роль в этом сыграли выборы, но и без выборов у Парламентской ассамблеи совета Европы (ПАСЕ) на заседании в Страсбурге хватило причин для приостановки контактов с Беларусью на высоком уровне.

Дирекция НИСЭПИ

Скачать полную версию