Monthly Archive: April 2014

BULLETINS INFOFOCUS № 4

E-bulletin of IISEPS Center for Documentation, N 4, 2014 – ISSN 1822-5578 (only Russian) Content: Introduction 1. Basic trends of April 2. Chronicle of key events 3. Politics 3.1. Facing the internal market 3.2. “Rough and tough, but fair decree” 4. Economics 4.1. Sanctions “without insignia” 4.2. Russia at the cusp of de-dollarization of economy …

Continue reading »

UKRAINIAN REVOLUTION IN THE MIRROR OF PUBLIC OPINION IN BELARUS

Ukrainian revolution, months-long Euromaydan and the overthrow of president V. Yanukovich significantly influenced Belarusian politics. However, these events influenced Belarusian public opinion as well. During March survey respondents were asked a wide range of question concerning different aspects of their opinion on dramatic events in the neighboring country. Further we are going to comment on the results of this survey using also the results of earlier surveys. You should note as well, that questions on the events after V. Yanukovich’s deserting (particularly on annexation of Crimea and troubles in the East of Ukraine) were not included in March poll.

THE CRIMEA COMPONENT OF A. LUKASHENKO’S RATINGS

Ukraine wasn’t so lucky to have its own Lukashenko. “This is exactly what caused dissatisfaction of some citizens and discords in society. I’m sure, if Ukraine had had its own Lukashenko, there would have been no those troubles that befell our sister nation”, told A. Rubinov on the 2nd of April during the opening of the 4th session of the 5th Congress of the upper house of the Belarusian parliament.

UKRAINIAN PUSH FOR GEOPOLITICAL SWING

The survey of March 2014 recorded a significant strengthening of pro-Russian moods and a weakening of pro-European moods in Belarusian society. Least of all it influenced the results of the question about voting on a hypothetical referendum about integration of the Republic of Belarus and the Russian Federation: in fact figures here jumped back to the level of last year’s spring and thus compensated December decrease (Table 1).

WE VOTE DESPITE WE DON’T TRUST THE RESULTS

During March elections of local Councils’ deputies Belarusian people didn’t let down their “batka” and were thanked for it: “Thanks to the people for supporting us in these elections, for coming so numerous. Surely, the situation put us on the alert, and I’ve asked people to come. The fact people come to elections is a strong argument for me. I often take it out of my pocket and put it on the table during important negotiations. And everyone understands: if almost 80% of populations come to elections, it means that they trust the power. It means I have some kind of strength in those negotiations. It’s a very big argument”.

UNRESTRICTED AUTHORITARIANISM AND THE RIGHT FOR ITS THROW OFF

Against the background of growth of positive moods in society and of the head of state’s ratings, the share of those who declare their readiness to participate in acts of protest against the worsening of financial position grew significantly (Table 1). 22.9% of respondents declared themselves ready for this in March 2014. This is 8.2 points more than at the peak of the economic crisis of 2011!

PRICE GROWTH IS NO OBSTACLE TO SOCIAL OPTIMISM GROWTH

In short-distance runs politics wins over economics. But in average- and long-distance runs it is economics that wins as a rule. The March survey shows it clearly.
The dynamics of public opinion in March was formed under the influence of events in Ukraine and Russia or, more specifically, under the interpretation of these events by Russian TV-media on the one hand (politics) and under the influence of day-to-day life (economics).

HOMO SOVIETICUS AS THE BASIS OF ELECTORAL AUTHORITARIANISM

(Русский) Причину популярности культа Великой Отечественной войны, как это не покажется странным на первый взгляд, можно объяснить исходя из ответов на вопрос: “Какой строй более приемлем для Беларуси?” (табл. 1). За годы независимости политическая элита страны так и не смогла сформулировать образ будущего. Нет его и в общественном мнении. Поэтому отсутствие будущего компенсируется прошлым, героическим прошлым.

GUARANTEED WORK ON A LOW SALARY!

After 23 years of independence Belarusian society still cannot define its attitude towards two main “-isms” of Soviet ideology, i.e. capitalism and socialism. In March the answers on the question “Which regime is more acceptable for Belarus?” were divided almost equally: capitalism – 38.3%, socialism – 39.9% (21.1% of respondents didn’t know what to answer).

MONEY CAN’T BUY HAPPINES, BUT POLITICAL LOYALTY CAN

A. Lukashenko likes to play off the beginning of nineties when, under “nationalists”, average salary amounted to $ 20, against “fat” aughties. According to official information from Belstat, in February 2014 (information for March was not yet available when the article was prepared) an average Belarusian earned 5.4 million rubles or $ 557.
In dollar equivalent average salary increased 28-fold over the past 20 years, while the share of Belarusians considering themselves poor decreased from 17.7% down to 10.8%, i.e. 1.6-fold (Table 1). You shouldn’t be surprised by this lack of proportion. Poverty and wealth are relative.

Ежемесячный архив: Апрель 2014

БЮЛЛЕТЕНИ ИНФОФОКУС № 4

Электронный бюллетень «ИНФОФОКУС» № 4, 2014 г. — ISSN 1822-5578 Содержание: Обращение к читателям 1. Основные тенденции апреля 2. Хронология основных событий 3. Политика 3.1. Лицом к внутреннему рынку 3.2. «Суровый, жесткий, но справедливый декрет» 4. Экономика 4.1. Санкции без «опознавательных знаков» 4.2. Россия на пороге дедолларизации экономики 4.3. Белорусский вариант «национализации элит» 5. Финансы …

Читать далее »

УКРАИНСКАЯ РЕВОЛЮЦИЯ В ЗЕРКАЛЕ ОБЩЕСТВЕННОГО МНЕНИЯ БЕЛАРУСИ

Украинская революция, многомесячный Евромайдан, отстранение от власти президента В. Януковича существенным образом повлияли на белорусскую политику. Однако не менее сильное влияние оказали эти события и на белорусское общественное мнение. В ходе мартовского опроса респондентам был предложен широкий набор вопросов, касающихся различных аспектов их отношения к драматическим событиям в соседней стране.

КРЫМСКАЯ СОСТАВЛЯЮЩАЯ РЕЙТИНГОВ А. ЛУКАШЕНКО

Украине не повезло, что у нее нет Лукашенко. «Именно это вызвало у части населения недовольство и раздоры в обществе. Уверен, был бы в Украине свой Лукашенко – не было бы сегодня тех бед, которые постигли братскую нам страну», – заявил А. Рубинов 2 апреля на открытии 4-й сессии 5-го созыва верхней палаты белорусского парламента.
Благодарные белорусы отвечают своему лидеру поддержкой. На протяжении уже двух десятилетий электоральный рейтинг А. Лукашенко за двумя исключениями, которые только подтверждают общее правило, держится выше отметки в 30%.

УКРАИНСКИЙ ТОЛЧОК ГЕОПОЛИТИЧЕСКИХ КАЧЕЛЕЙ

Очередной, мартовский 2014 г. опрос засвидетельствовал весьма заметное усиление пророссийских и снижение проевропейских настроений в белорусском обществе. В наименьшей степени это проявилось в ответах на вопрос о голосовании на гипотетическом референдуме об объединении РБ и РФ: здесь цифры вернулись фактически на уровень весны лета прошлого года, компенсировав декабрьское падение (табл. 1).

РЕЗУЛЬТАТАМ ВЫБОРОВ НЕ ДОВЕРЯЕМ, НО ГОЛОСУЕМ

В ходе мартовских выборов депутатов местных Советов белорусский народ не подвел своего «батьку», за что и получил благодарность: «Спасибо народу, что поддержали нас в эти выборы, пришло столько людей. Это, конечно, ситуация насторожила, да и просил я людей, чтобы они пришли. То, что люди пришли на выборы, – это мне сильный аргумент. Я его часто достаю из кармана и выкладываю на стол в больших переговорах. И все понимают: раз пришло почти 80% человек – значит, доверие власти есть. Значит, у меня сила какая-то есть в этих переговорах. Это очень большой аргумент».

НЕОГРАНИЧЕННЫЙ АВТОРИТАРИЗМ И ПРАВО НА ЕГО СВЕРЖЕНИЕ

На фоне роста позитивных социальных настроений и рейтингов главы государства заметно увеличилась доля белорусов, декларирующих свою готовность принимать участие в акциях протеста против ухудшения экономического положения (табл. 1). В марте 2014 г. такую готовность продекларировало 22.9%. Это на 8.2 пункта больше, чем на пике экономического кризиса в сентябре 2011 г.!

РОСТ ЦЕН РОСТУ СОЦИАЛЬНОГО ОПТИМИЗМА НЕ ПОМЕХА

На коротких дистанциях политика побеждает экономику. Но в «забегах» на средние и длинные дистанции победа, как правило, остается за экономикой. Мартовский опрос этот вывод наглядно проиллюстрировал.
Динамика общественного мнения в Беларуси в марте формировалась, с одной стороны, под влиянием событий в Украине и России, точнее, под влиянием интерпретации этих событий российскими телеканалами (политика), а с другой стороны, – повседневностью (экономика).

ЧЕЛОВЕК СОВЕТСКИЙ КАК ОПОРА ЭЛЕКТОРАЛЬНОГО АВТОРИТАРИЗМА

Причину популярности культа Великой Отечественной войны, как это не покажется странным на первый взгляд, можно объяснить исходя из ответов на вопрос: «Какой строй более приемлем для Беларуси?» (табл. 1). За годы независимости политическая элита страны так и не смогла сформулировать образ будущего. Нет его и в общественном мнении. Поэтому отсутствие будущего компенсируется прошлым, героическим прошлым.

ЗА НЕВЫСОКУЮ ЗАРПЛАТУ НА ГАРАНТИРОВАННОЙ РАБОТЕ!

И на 23 году независимости белорусское общество все никак не может определить свое отношение к двум главным «измам» советской идеологии – к капитализму и социализму. В марте на вопрос: «Какой строй более приемлем для Беларуси?» ответы респондентов разделились практически поровну: капитализм – 38.3%, социализм – 39.9% (еще 21.8% затруднились ответить).

НЕ В ДЕНЬГАХ СЧАСТЬЕ, А В ПОЛИТИЧЕСКОЙ ЛОЯЛЬНОСТИ

А. Лукашенко любит противопоставлять начало 90-х, когда при «националистах» средняя зарплата белорусов составляла $ 20, «тучным» нулевым годам. Согласно официальным данным Белстата, среднестатистический белорус заработал в феврале 2014 г. (за март на момент подготовки материала данные отсутствовали) 5.4 млн. рублей или $ 557.