Monthly Archive: November 2006

BULLETINS INFOFOCUS № 11

E-bulletin of IISEPS Center for Documentation, N 11, 2006 – ISSN 1822-5578 (only Russian) Content: Introduction Theme of the month: Russia-Belarus Presidential Meeting: Again Failed to Come to Agreement?.. Person of the month: Alexander Kozulin: Determination or Despair? Document of the month: New Europe’s Strategy for Belarus: Hope or Disappointment? Organization of the month: Scandal …

Continue reading »

A. MILINKEVICH’S RATING IS FALLING DOWN

* According to the results of the nation opinion polls conducted by independent sociologists (in all cases those face-to-face interviewed were approximately 1,500 persons aged 18 and over, margin of error didn’t exceed 0.03)

HOW FAR ARE WE FROM EUROPE?

Prof. Oleg Manaev answering to Arche’s questions*

“Arche”: What is Europe for you?

O.M.: I look at this from both geographic and cultural viewpoint. Geographically, this is the continent where we live and in the center of which Belarus is situated. Its continental peculiarities like landscape, climate, etc. are as well very important.

WHAT IS THE POTENTIAL OF RUSSIA-BELARUS FRIENDSHIP?

Sociologists are well aware that there are many objective factors as well as human factors that influence the formation of public opinion. The public opinion doesn’t work out notions of abstract matters that demand professional knowledge. How does it act then? It acts exactly like a visitor in a restaurant choosing from the menu. Who and why builds this menu is another question.

PARADOX OF THOSE NOT THINKING AND INDIFFERENT

Stated press conference of A. Lukashenko to mass media representatives was held on November 23. On the next day Sovetskaya Belorussia published a many-sheet record of the meeting and made a note at its very end that the record was insignificantly abridged. Our experience of work with this kind of publications proves that these are the most important quotes and not the secondary which are generally taken off.

MOTHER TONGUE

IISEPS surveys of the languages which Belarusians use for communication usually provoked much criticism. In particular, they claimed that answers to the questionnaire might reflect only external side of language behavior which was coercive. In the opinion of critics, it would be more correct to ask respondents about their aspirations and about the language they would like to speak as their mother tongue.

MARGINS OF POPULISM

President A. Lukashenko is a populist. This is not the news, nor a state secret, nor a definition to disgrace or disparage the head of state because the president himself agrees with this definition. Yet in August of 1994, soon after his election, he explained his inclination to populism to Russian TV journalist A. Karaulov: “By the way, I don’t think populism is an extremely negative characteristic for a politician. Perhaps, it derives from the word popular.”

WHAT IS THE BELARUSIAN NATION?

This question raised hot debates in some periods of the modern Belarusian history. Members of those discussions made their political conclusions on various answers to this question including the radical ones. In general, answers to this question group around three different variants – foundations of national identity, which are citizenship, birth (ethnicity) and culture (language). Respondents were offered to make choice out of these three identifiers of Belarusian nation. The results are given in Table 1.

WHOSE ARE YOU, GUYS?

During the latest population census in Belarus, 81.2% of population placed themselves among Belarusians, 73.7% said Belarusian is their native language but only 36.7% said they speak Belarusian at home (according to the data of opinion polls, the part of Belarusian-speaking citizens is several times lower).

WHO BELIEVE IN INDEPENDENT STATEHOOD OF BELARUS?

They use to install billboards in Belarusian cities promoting national prosperity where Belarusians of all ages (from babies to gray-haired veterans) are portrayed at the background of a short and eye-catching slogan “For Belarus!” rather than billboards with toothpastes and bright packages with detergents. This is not surprising. Despite globalization, the national axis remains a central axis in the beginning of XXI century and the most pressing problems in any society are concentrated around it.

Ежемесячный архив: Ноябрь 2006

БЮЛЛЕТЕНИ ИНФОФОКУС № 11

Электронный бюллетень «ИНФОФОКУС» № 11, 2006 г. — ISSN 1822-5578 Содержание: Обращение к читателям Тема месяца: Встреча президентов Беларуси и России: опять не договорились?.. Персона месяца: Александр Козулин: решительность или отчаяние? Документ месяца: Новая европейская стратегия для Беларуси: надежда или разочарование? Организация месяца: Скандал в национальном центре информационных ресурсов и технологий: закономерность или недосмотр? С …

Читать далее »

РЕЙТИНГ А. МИЛИНКЕВИЧА ПАДАЕТ

* По результатам национальных опросов общественного мнения, проведенных независимыми социологами (во всех случаях методом face-to-face interview опрашивалось примерно 1.500 человек в возрасте 18 лет и старше, предельная ошибка репрезентативности не превышает 0.03).

ДАЛЕКО ЛИ НАМ ДО ЕВРОПЫ?

Ответы профессора Олега Манаева на вопросы журнала «Arche»*

«Arche»: Что для Вас значит Европа?
О.М.: Я вкладываю в это понятие и географический смысл, и культурный. Географически — это континент, на котором мы живем, и в центре которого находится Беларусь.

КАКОВ ПОТЕНЦИАЛ БЕЛОРУССКО-РОССИЙСКОЙ ДРУЖБЫ?

Для социологов не является тайной, что на формирование общественного мнения влияет множество объективных и субъективных факторов. Обычно оно не вырабатывает самостоятельно понятия об абстрактных вещах, требующих профессиональных знаний. Как в таких случаях оно «поступает»? Точно так же, как посетители в ресторане, выбирая из предложенного им меню.

ПАРАДОКС НЕДУМАЮЩИХ И БЕЗРАЗЛИЧНЫХ

Очередная пресс-конференция А. Лукашенко представителям СМИ состоялась 23 ноября. На следующий день газета «Советская Белоруссия» напечатала многостраничную стенограмму, в самом конце которой сообщалось о том, что стенограмма публикуется с незначительными сокращениями. Опыт аналитической работы с подобными публикациями подсказывает: сокращениям в выступлениях президента подвергается не второстепенное, а, наоборот, самое важное. Так оно и оказалось.

МАТЧЫНА МОВА

Многолетние исследования НИСЭПИ о языках общения, которыми пользуются белорусы, обычно вызывали резкую критику. В частности, утверждалось, что ответы на соответствующие вопросы анкеты отражают лишь внешнюю, принудительную сторону языкового поведения. По мнению наших критиков, более корректно было бы спрашивать респондентов об их устремлениях, о том, на каком языке они хотели бы говорить.

ПРЕДЕЛЫ ПОПУЛИЗМА

Президент А. Лукашенко – популист. Это не новость, не государственная тайна и не определение, способное унизить честь и достоинство первого лица государства, ибо само первое лицо с данным определением согласно. Не случайно, еще в августе 1994 г., вскоре после избрания, оно доходчиво объяснило российскому тележурналисту А. Караулову свою склонность к популизму: «Кстати, я популизм не понимаю как явление страшно негативное для политиков. Популизм, может быть, от слова популярный».

ЧТО ТАКОЕ БЕЛОРУССКАЯ НАЦИЯ

Этот вопрос в некоторые периоды новейшей истории Беларуси вызывал горячие споры, из разных ответов на него участники дискуссий делали политические выводы, в том числе и весьма радикальные. Ответы на этот вопрос группируются вокруг трех различных вариантов – оснований национальной идентичности – гражданство, происхождение (этничность), культура (язык). Из этих вариантов определения белорусской нации и было предложено сделать выбор респондентам. Результаты приведены в табл. 1.

ЧЬИ ВЫ, ХЛОПЦЫ, БУДЕТЕ?

Во время последней переписи населения Беларуси 81.2% назвали себя белорусами, 73.7% опрошенных граждан заявили, что белорусский – их родной язык, в то же время лишь 36.7% ответили, что говорят дома по-белорусски (по данным социологических опросов доля белорусскоязычных в несколько раз меньше).

КТО ВЕРИТ В ГОСУДАРСТВЕННУЮ НЕЗАВИСИМОСТЬ БЕЛАРУСИ?

Уже который год белорусские города украшают рекламные щиты, на которых вместо тюбиков зубной пасты и ярких упаковок со стиральными порошками белорусы всех возрастов (от младенцев в колясках до убеленных сединами ветеранов) рекламируют национальное процветание на фоне короткого и броского лозунга «За Беларусь!». Ничего удивительного в этом нет. Глобализация глобализацией, а главная ось, вокруг которой вращаются основные проблемы любого общества, и в начале XXI века остается национальной. Власть это очень хорошо понимает, поэтому и не жалеет денег на рекламу.