Monthly Archive: April 2006

RESULTS OF THE NATION OPINION POLL CONDUCTED IN APRIL OF 2006

(1594 persons interviewed, margin of error does not exceed 0.03)   1. In your opinion, how do people live in Belarus? Variant of answer Better than in Belarus Like in Belarus Worse than in Belarus DA/NA Poland 50.8 26.0 11.4 11.8 Latvia 39.7 26.3 18.0 16.0 Lithuania 36.8 27.3 20.0 15.9 Russia 24.6 40.7 28.1 …

Continue reading »

BULLETINS INFOFOCUS № 4

E-bulletin of IISEPS Center for Documentation, N 4, 2006 (only Russian) Content: Introduction Theme of the month: Chernobyl March: Ceremony or Ground? Person of the month: Old New Prime Minister: Loyalty or Professionalism? Document of the month: Strategic Plan: Does Opposition Have a Plan? Organization of the month: Vyasna Is Ten: Rights Protection Centers Are …

Continue reading »

INNOCENCE VS. BELTRANSGAZ

In the Belarusian mentality, Russia is not only its closest ally but perhaps the only ally: the majority of Belarusians estimate low the friendliness of other countries towards Belarus. In addition, most of the so-called friends are situated far from Belarus (like China and Kazakhstan) and don’t raise great sympathy, unlike Russia.

FOES ARE STILL ALL AROUND?

In October of 2005 (article “Foes All Around?”) we offered to you analysis of the results of September’05 opinion poll presenting foreign political estimates and priorities of Belarusians. We asked these questions again in the April of 2006. You may see what have changed in Table 1 below.

WHERE DOES EUROPE END?

Answers of respondents to the questions on self-identification divided almost equally between “Europeans” and “Soviet men” (See Table 1).
Table 1. Dynamics of answers to the question “Do you think you are rather a European or a Soviet man?”, %

THE MAJORITY LOVES RUSSIA AND NOT USSR!

As it goes from Table 1, when it comes to choice of the development path for the country, approximately one third of respondents (32.6%) prefer accession of Belarus into the European Union and slightly more than a half of respondents (53.9%) would choose integration with Russia. For the past two years, supporters of Europe-oriented integration decreased very insignificantly (less than by 4 points). However, supporters of East-oriented integration have grown up from 41% to 53.9%, i.e. by a third. This happened due to a considerable decrease in the number of vacillating (from 22.5% to 13.5%).

ENDURING ECHO OF CHERNOBYL

Quite recently Belarus commemorated twentieth anniversary of the catastrophe at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant. They have been speaking much, on the top level including, about the measures taken for the most efficient post-disaster cleanup. It was said there are no grounds for concern, “emotions should be left in the past”, etc. In other words, the authorities do their best to diminish importance of the Chernobyl problem.

IS EVERYTHING THAT FINE WITH US?

The polling data show that the generally positive perception of dynamics of personal welfare among Belarusians is getting stronger (See Table 1). In particular, the number of those who think that their welfare improved over the past three months has increased almost four-fold over the past three years (from 6.5% to 24.7%) and the number of those who think it went down has decreased by more than threefold over the same period (from 41.6% to 12.4%).

FINAL RESULTS OF THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION

On April 16, 2006 independent sociologists at the assistance of O. Manaev’s group (field study and processing of the data was carried by other team of professionals) conducted a nation opinion poll (those face-to-face interviewed are 1,594 persons aged 18 and over, margin of error doesn’t exceed 3%). The opinion poll aimed at verifying the data received during the previous opinion poll conducted at the assistance O. Manaev’s group from March 27 to April 6 of 2006.

NATIONAL POLL 04’06

1. Title of the study: Strengthening pro-“wide Europe” attitudes in Belarus”
2. Topics of thematic coverage: political, social and economic factors of development of Belarusian society, integration with Europe
3. The aim: to study the most important facilitators and obstacles of development of Belarusian society, to support Belarusian democratic forces for social transformations
4. Descriptors: market, economic attitudes, socio-political positions and attitudes, integration, free and democratic election, electoral behavior, opposition, political preferences, political parties, mass media
5. Comparability: most important questions were replicated
6. Geographical area: Belarus-national
7. Source of information: iiseps@iiseps.org
8. Fieldwork dates: 2006, April
9. Population sampled: 18+ years old residents of Belarus who are not currently in hospital, jail, military service
10. Sampling: clustered random
11. Sample size: 1594 respondents
12. Mode of interviews: face-to-face interview
13. Control: selective control of interviewers
14. Related publications: more then 10 publications in mass media

Ежемесячный архив: Апрель 2006

НАЦИОНАЛЬНЫЙ ОПРОС В АПРЕЛЕ 2006 Г.

(опрошено 1594 чел., ошибка репрезентативности не превышает 0.03)   Как, на Ваш взгляд, живут люди в соседних странах? Вариант ответа Лучше, чем в Беларуси Так же, как в Беларуси Хуже, чем в Беларуси ЗО/НО В Польше 50.8 26.0 11.4 11.8 В Латвии 39.7 26.3 18.0 16.0 В Литве 36.8 27.3 20.0 15.9 В России 24.6 …

Читать далее »

БЮЛЛЕТЕНИ ИНФОФОКУС № 4

Электронный бюллетень «ИНФОФОКУС», № 4, 2006 г. Содержание: Обращение к читателям Тема месяца: «Чарнобыльскi шлях»: ритуал или повод? Персона месяца: Старый-новый премьер-министр: верность или профессионализм? Документ месяца: Стратегический план действий: есть ли у оппозиции план? Организация месяца: «Вясне» 10 лет: правозащита под дамокловым мечом УК С рабочего стола НИСЭПИ: Президентские выборы: мифы и реальность Обращение …

Читать далее »

НЕВИННОСТЬ И «БЕЛТРАНСГАЗ»

Для белорусского массового сознания Россия – не только самый ближайший союзник, но по существу и едва ли не единственный союзник вообще: дружелюбие других государств по отношению к своей стране белорусы в массе своей оценивают не слишком высоко. Кроме того, большая часть этих предполагаемых друзей расположена от Беларуси довольно далеко (Китай, Казахстан) и никаких особых эмоциональных симпатий, в отличие от России, они не вызывают.

КРУГОМ ПО-ПРЕЖНЕМУ ВРАГИ?

В октябре 2005 г. в статье «Кругом враги?» мы анализировали результаты сентябрьского 2005 г. опроса, касающиеся внешнеполитических оценок и приоритетов белорусов. В апрельском 2006 г. опросе соответствующие вопросы были заданы вновь. Изменения представлены в табл. 1.

ГДЕ КОНЧАЕТСЯ ЕВРОПА?

При ответах на вопрос о самоидентификации респонденты разделились почти поровну между «европейцами» и «советскими» (табл. 1).
Таблица 1. Динамика ответов на вопрос «Считаете ли Вы себя скорее современным европейским человеком или советским человеком?», %

БОЛЬШИНСТВУ МИЛЕЙ РОССИЯ, А НЕ СССР!

Как можно видеть из табл. 1, сегодня примерно треть населения (32.6%) при выборе направления развития страны предпочли бы вступление Беларуси в Европейский Союз. Немногим более половины (53.9%) выбрали бы объединение с Россией. За последние два года число сторонников европейского вектора интеграции если и сократилось, то не слишком существенно (менее чем на четыре пункта). А вот количество сторонников восточного вектора увеличилось весьма заметно – с 41% до 53.9%, или на треть. Произошло это за счет значительного сокращения количества не определившихся (с 22.5% до 13.5%).

ДОЛГОЕ ЭХО ЧЕРНОБЫЛЯ

Совсем недавно в нашей стране отмечали двадцатилетие трагедии на Чернобыльской АЭС. Много говорилось, в том числе и на высшем уровне, о том, что сделано для устранения последствий этой трагедии. О том, что повода для особых тревог больше нет, что «эмоции должны остаться в прошлом» и т.п. Иными словами, власти стараются «затушевать» чернобыльскую проблему.

ТАК ЛИ ВСЕ У НАС ПРЕКРАСНО?

Данные опроса показывают, что общее благодушное восприятие белорусами динамики своего материального положения продолжает усиливаться (табл. 1). В частности, количество тех, кто считает, что его материальное положение за последние три месяца улучшилось, возросло почти в четыре раза за последние три года (с 6.5% до 24.7%), а количество считающих, что оно ухудшилось, сократилось за это время более чем в три раза (с 41.6% до 12.4%).

ОКОНЧАТЕЛЬНЫЕ ИТОГИ ПРЕЗИДЕНТСКИХ ВЫБОРОВ

16-29 апреля 2006 г. независимыми социологами при содействии группы профессора Манаева (полевое исследование и обработка данных осуществлялись другой командой профессионалов) проведен опрос общественного мнения (методом face-to-face interview опрошено 1594 человека в возрасте от 18 лет и старше, ошибка репрезентативности не превышает 3%). Главная цель опроса – проверить достоверность данных первого послевыборного опроса, проведенного при содействии группы профессора Манаева 27 марта — 6 апреля с.г.

НАЦИОНАЛЬНЫЙ ОПРОС 04’06

Название: «Укрепление проевропейских ориентаций в Беларуси»
Тема: политические, социальные и экономические факторы развития белорусского общества, интеграция с Европой.
Цель: выявить способствующие факторы и помехи для развития белорусского общества и оказать содействие демократическим силам Беларуси в социальных трансформациях
Ключевые слова: рынок, экономические отношения, социально-политические позиции и отношения, интеграция, свободные и демократические выборы, оппозиция, политические партии, электоральное поведение, политические предпочтения, средства массовой информации.
Сравнимость: наиболее важные вопросы были вновь подняты
География опроса: Беларусь
Итоговый файл: iiseps@iiseps.org
Дата полевых работ: апрель 2006 г.
Объект исследования: население Беларуси 18 лет и старше
Выборка: случайная многоступенчатая
Размер выборки: 1594 респондентов
Вид опроса: «лицом к лицу» (интервью)
Контроль: выборочный контроль интервьюеров
Публикации: более 10